Home Press Release Index

Main Content
Press Release

Recipients and Their Achievements

Group A

Dr. Takuo Sugano (Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo, Chairman, Board of Trustees, Toyo University)

[Fundamental and pioneering contributions to advances in ULSI ultra-high-speed solid-state electronics]

Dr. Sugano has made a leading contribution to research in the semiconductor field through his achievements in theoretical and experimental elucidation of the characteristics of the basic technologies of modern LSI circuits: the metal, oxide film, and semiconductor, such as the characteristics between the oxide film and the silicon surface, as well as those of the oxide film itself.

Group B

Dr. Alan C. Kay (President, Viewpoints Research Institute, Inc.)

[As the originator of the personal computer and the architect of the modern windowing GUI, as well as the inventor of Object Oriented Programming and promoter of computer-based education for children, Dr. Kay has made pioneering contributions to both C&C technology and the development of society and culture]

In the 1960s, Dr. Kay introduced the concept of the personal computer. In the 1970s, he conceived the "Dynabook", a book-sized computer as easy to use as pen and paper, and then developed an effective windowing GUI and object-oriented programming language to facilitate interaction. He is now working on computer development with the aim of bringing the digital world to children.


Copyright(C) NEC Corporation
Terms of Use Contact Us