[C&C for Human Potential / NEC Corporation]

Press Release
                        Chris Shimizu
                        NEC Corporation
                        TEL    :81-3-3798-6511
                        FAX    :81-3-3457-7249
                        E-mail :Shimizu@p10-22150.star.nec.co.jp

*****	For Immediate Use April 21, 1998

First Japanese to Receive Eckert-Mauchly Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Supercomputer Architecture

~ NEC's Tadashi Watanabe Receives Prestigious Award from IEEE and ACM ~
Tadashi Watanabe

Tadashi Watanabe

NEC today announced that Tadashi Watanabe, General Manager of the Supercomputer Marketing Promotion Division, has been selected as the recipient of the 1998 Eckert-Mauchly Award for Outstanding Contributions to Computer Architecture. Watanabe is the first Japanese to win this prestigious award, which will be formally presented during the International Symposium on Computer Architecture 1998 (ISCA 98) to be held at Barcelona, Spain in June.

The Eckert-Mauchly Award is jointly presented by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) to honor outstanding contributions to the field of computer and digital systems architecture.

Tadashi Watanabe was a chief architect for NEC's first supercomputer, the SX-2, and is recognized for his significant contributions to the architectural design of supercomputers having multiple, parallel vector pipelines and programmable vector caches. The SX-2, the fastest supercomputer of its time, was announced in 1983. The major design features used in the SX-2 were carried forward into the successor SX-3 and SX-4 Series systems as core technologies proven to provide high performance.

The Award is named after J. Presper Eckert and John W. Mauchly who co-developed ENIAC, the first computer, in 1946. The Award represents the highest honor which can be bestowed in the field of computer architecture; it has been presented to one person each year since 1979. Previously recognized recipients have included C. Gordon Bell in 1982 (Note 1), Gene M. Amdahl in 1987 (Note 2), and Seymour R. Cray in 1989 (Note 3).

NEC believes that receipt of this award by Watanabe recognizes NEC's advanced technology in computers and supercomputers, as well as a company that fosters and supports innovation and excellence in its products. NEC will continue this excellence and provide total solutions to computational problems by developing the most advanced technologies and products for the 21st century.

For Outline of Personal History of Tadashi Watanabe, please see the attached sheet.


  1. C. Gordon Bell developed the VAX minicomputer at Digital Equipment Company.

  2. Gene M. Amdahl developed the IBM System/360 mainframe computer while at IBM. He later founded Amdahl Inc. to manufacture IBM compatible mainframe computers.

  3. Seymour R. Cray developed the first computers to be classified as supercomputers. He is responsible for development of the Control Data Corporation 6000 and 7000 architectures. He then founded Cray Research Inc., and later Cray Computer Corporation, to develop the CRAY-1 and follow-on vector supercomputers.
[Copyright(C) NEC Corporation 1998. NEC and C&C are trademarks of NEC Corporation.]